top of page
Search
  • laurenglinn

Lot Inspection/Pre-Construction Meeting

Updated: Nov 26, 2019


WOW! Let me start by apologizing for taking such a long hiatus from our blog. Amidst building a house, Ryan and I have also gone through a few other life changes recently. However, I am back and ready to share all of our super exciting steps to date!


I am going to pick up right where we left off with the meeting following our color selections. This meeting is called the Lot Inspection/Pre-Construction meeting and is pretty accurately named. We met our field manager out at the lot around 9 am. He staked out the house, shot grade and talked to us about the bids we had received from our excavator and how the process was going to work from that point on. While we are on the topic of our field manager, I'll share a little story so you can have a chuckle. I have worked at Wayne Homes for a while and one of my first interactions with the company was with Todd Orr, a field manager out of our Portage location. He built my first customers home and I just loved the way he worked with them. I made him promise me that he would build my house when I finally signed. We shook hands and everything!!! Would you believe that this man- a man that had been a field manager with Wayne Homes for SEVENTEEN YEARS- got promoted THE WEEK BEFORE WE DUG. I never knew it was possible to be both happy and sad at the same time until this occurred. Therefore, Todd did our lot inspection meeting, but moving forward you'll hear me talk about Chad, who is our new field manager (and is equally as great- love ya, Chad)!


Once the lot was all staked out we returned to the office to review our prints and sign off on our final color selections. We made a couple tweaks but nothing too major.

This is the last meeting that you're able to make changes without a fee so we had to make sure everything was the way we had envisioned! We signed our lives away and waited to begin the bank process.

62 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page